craig stevens

Steve Shapiro WSVN sports director with WSVN sports reporter Donovan Campbell

Steve Shapiro WSVN sports director with WSVN sports reporter Donovan CampbellOver the weekend at a charity gala at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Hollywood, WSVN Sports Director Steve Shapiro was honored with the Sonny Hirsch Excellence in Sports Broadcasting Award. The award honors “an outstanding sports broadcaster that has had a great impact in his field as well as his or her accomplishments within our community.”

The event, Call of the Game Dinner, organized by sports broadcasters Eric Reid and Tony Fiorentino, benefits Lauren’s Kids, an organization aimed at preventing child sexual abuse. And DSAF, the Dade Schools Athletic Foundation.

Steve Shapiro shared the moment with some of his WSVN colleagues. WSVN anchor Craig Stevens attended, along with meteorologist Vivian Gonzalez and her husband, WSVN Sr. Executive Producer Darcy Tannebaum, WSVN investigative producer Danny Cohen, and sports reporter Donovan Campbell and his wife.

Shapiro was among quite a company of honorees too. Miami Heat star LeBron James was awarded the Don Shula Sports Legend Award, Heat player James Jones received the Ted Arison Community Service Award, and former Arizona congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords was awarded the Jim Mandich Courage & Commitment Award, congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz accepted on her behalf.

Other local broadcasters to receive the Sonny Hirsch Excellence in Sports Broadcasting Award are WTVJ sports director Joe Rose in 2012, and Jim Mandich in 2011.


Some photos from the 2013 Suncoast Emmy awards, courtesy the Suncoast Chapter Flickr feed

WPLG meteorologist Trent Aric all smiles with his gold

WTVJ reporter Roxanne Vargas with husband:

WPLG meteorologist Trent Aric with WPLG weather producer Aliana Perez

L to R: WFOR CBS4 anchor/reporter Marybel Rodriguez

WSVN anchor Belkys Nerey took her fierce mom as a date to the Emmys:

WSVN anchors Mike Marza and Craig Stevens

L to R: WPLG reporter Ben Kenney, with we think Amanda Stanley and Matthew Fuhrman

L to R: WPTV investigative reporter Shannon Cake

All smiles with their gold – WPLG weather producer Aliana Perez with WPLG meteorologist Trent Aric

L to R: WPTV GM Steve Wasserman, WPTV news director Mike Garber, WPTV station manager Lloyd Bucher

WFOR investigative reporter Michelle Gillen, with former WFOR reporter Gio Benitez now reporting at ABC News

WPLG reporter Ben Kennedy

WFOR reporter David Sutta

Former WFOR reporter/anchor Jorge Estevez horsing around with his lady. He’s now at WFTV in Orlando.


It’s 2:13am and Belkys Nerey, Craig Stevens and Patrick Frazier along with Blake Burman┬áhave been on the air for 7 hours straight for election night coverage. Mike Marza who was at Romney camp in Boston signed off a bit earlier. WSVN are the only TV station in town not airing a network feed

Update: They signed off at 2:30am


Yesterday on his Facebook page WSVN anchor Craig Stevens announced he inked a contract renewal with the station that will keep him around for a “lonnnnnnnnnnng time”, no specifics but it sounds like we’ll be seeing him for a while more.

Craig Stevens joined WSVN as a reporter in 1992, left in 1997 for WHDH before returning in 1999 as a weekend anchor. He was promoted to main co-anchor at the end of May 2001 when Rick Sanchez left for MSNBC.